My First Post

Drum roll please!

Rrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr………..*crash*

I’ve started a blog!

After nearly a year on Twitter I’ve decided it is time to join many other teachers and bring my professional reflections to the digital world. I’ve been reading numerous blog entries over the past ten months, but have been particularly inspired by local educators Chris Wjer, Byrn Morgan Williams, and Carrie Gelson. Reading many of their musings have made me want to respond with more than 140 characters allows.

It was my experience at EdCamp35 a week and a half ago that finally pushed me over the blogging cliff, so to speak.  I had a chance to meet many of the teachers that I follow on Twitter, but one very quick conversation in the hallway during a break gave me the courage to start writing.  I had a minute to introduce myself to Bryn and tell him how much I enjoyed reading his blog.  I mentioned that I had been thinking of starting my own blog but that I wasn’t sure where to start and if anyone would want to read it.  He said that it doesn’t matter to him if anyone reads his entries, that he does it for himself.  He encouraged me to start writing, whether anyone reads it or not.

So, here it is.  I have so many things I could reflect on, I don’t know where I am going to start.  I hope that my writing helps me grow, both professionally and personally.  If you are reading this, I thank you for taking a few minutes out of your time to join me in my thoughts and I look forward to learning with you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My First Post

  1. janis macdonald says:

    I will read what you post, Jenn! Looking forward to it!

  2. Welcome to the world of blogging! It’s a great first step.

  3. Congrats Jennifer!!! You will love the world of blogging! It’s some of the best reflecting I’ve done as an educator!

  4. Thanks! It is exciting and scary to put my reflections out there for the world to see!

Leave a Reply

